Alcester Street


Yew Tree Community School



At Yew Tree Community school, we have children who attend full time, morning or afternoon nursery. As a school, we use the EYFS framework to develop a curriculum that aims to give all learners, particularly the most disadvantaged, the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life. We aim to support the learning of all children at every level through carefully planned activities and provision both indoors and outdoors, providing quality interactions between adults and children and extending children’s learning through challenge and questioning. 


The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

 The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


Please see the link below for the EYFS framework. 

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage for group and school providers (




 Nursery Curriculum Overview.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1